Celebrating St. Valentine Giveaway Hop (#CelebratingValentine) Feb. 11-18

celebratingstvalentineWelcome to the Celebrating Saint Valentine Giveaway Hop!

The Valentine’s Day moment I’d like to share is from February 14, 2005:

It was the first Valentine’s Day I shared with my then boyfriend  (now husband). He was still paying his way through college and didn’t have much money set aside. He was so broke he claimed he wouldn’t go to his graduation on principle, but I had a sneaking suspicion the decision had a lot more to do with the $75 robe. He still insisted on a Valentine’s Day dinner at this little Indian restaurant on Newbury Street (which, incidentally, was $75).

It was one of those days when everything went right–candle light, three course meal, followed by a delicious mango creme brûlée. It was a blistering Boston night, but it gave us an excuse to cuddle on our walk back. Our university had a curfew, so we knew we wouldn’t be able to get into each other’s buildings. It made the day all the more special.

I’m a first-time participant, and I have one $10 Amazon.com gift card on offer.  For more goodies, click on the  Celebrating Saint Valentine button above to reach the full list of participants.

WordPress won’t let me embed Rafflecopter, which means you’ll need to go to my facebook page (here) to enter the raffle. Before you do, you should probably get the mandatory entry over with first.

Leave a Comment answering this question:

What should I base Book 3 in the Undead Fairy Tales series on?  (Note: Book 1 is based on Rapunzel and Book 2, which I’m currently writing, is based on Little Red Riding Hood. The series is set in a post-apocalyptic zombie world).

I’ll get out of the way now and let you go over to my facebook page to submit your entry. Best of Luck!

34 responses to “Celebrating St. Valentine Giveaway Hop (#CelebratingValentine) Feb. 11-18

  1. How about the Cobbler and the Elves from one of my favorite childhood movies “The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm” (1962). I bet you could do a lot with wooden elves that come alive at night. Although my favorite from that movie was The Singing Bones. It was the first Cinerama film by the way. Google the title. Watching the movie may inspire you. 🙂

  2. Not sure my post went through (log in problem) so I will try again. How about “The Cobbler and the Elves” one of the Grimm fairy tales highlighted in the 1962 movie “The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm.” Bet you could do a lot with wooden elves that come alive at night. Excellent movie by the way & the first to use Cinerama. The Singing Bones” was my favorite from that movie. It might work too. Watching it might inspire you!

  3. I’d say sleeping beauty or snow white

  4. BEAUTY AND THE BEAST is always good (love the old Cocteau movie), and zombies would be quite the twist on it!

  5. I’d say Gretel from Hansel and Gretel

  6. Beauty and the Beast is always my favorite.

    kesummer69(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. Goldilocks would be fun

  8. It might not be popular enough for other people to recognize, but I really love the Japanese legend/fairytale of Kaguya-hime (or: the tale of the bamboo cutter).

  9. What a great concept! I love finding new to me authors on hops. As for a fairy tale, how about a twist on the little mermaid. Could be a shifter of sorts…maybe.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  10. Hansel and Gretel

    rafflecopter name; Dawna Newman

  11. Thanks for participating in the hop.
    wendy_pogrant@yahoo.com

  12. Beauty and the Beast.

    susanmplatt AT hotmail DOT com

  13. Beauty and the Beast.
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  14. I know that there are a lot of comment on Beauty and the Beast, and I agree! I agree 100 percent. Love Beauty and the Beast, and I think that would be awesome for book 3!

    mmalavec(at)med(dot)umich(dot)edu

  15. I see that there are many comments for Beauty and the Beast, and I agree! I agree with them 100 percent. I think Beauty and the Beast is an amazing idea for book #3

    mmalavec(at)med(dot)umich(dot)edu

  16. I would go with Snow White. It’s a classic and there are so many characters and ways to take the story.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    mestith at gmail dot com

  17. I like Sleeping Beauty.

  18. I suggest the Little Mermaid because it would be unique. Plus i’m sure she would fit in a post apocalyptic world.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  19. HMMMM….Goldilocks? Gretel? Alice? Hope these will give you some more suggestions. Happy Valentine’s Day! And Thank you so much~

    kp_kazamei(at)yahoo(dot)com

  20. Little Mermaid! It was my favorite when I was a kid!

  21. Beauty and the Beast

  22. Alice in Wonderland, Beauty and the Beast….there are so many good ones to choose from! Good luck with your decision.

    Happy Valentine’s Day,
    Marlena
    charmedpoms(at)yahoo(dot)com

  23. Lisa Walker Liese2

    Beauty and the Beast. It’s my favorite!
    sqwalker2@hotmail.com

  24. I agree with Beauty and the Beast.

    ainfingerATcomcastDOTOnet

  25. The Little Mermaid has always been one of my favorites and with all the fairy tale retellings lately, I’ve only seen it done once or twice. Sleeping Beauty is another favorite that also has not been remade much if at all. There have been many Beauty and the Beast and Cinderella adaptations.

  26. Well, my favorite is Cinderella, or maybe Sleeping Beauty, or Beauty and the Beast (some of my favorite retellings are of this fairy tale)…

    anasmith1919 at gmail dot com

  27. sleeping beauty or goldielocks. would be a good one.

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  28. That was a sweet story. 🙂 I am partial to Aladdin, but like the idea of Beauty and the Beast or even Cinderella.
    Thank you for sharing and for the giveaway.

  29. ooo this sounds freaking awesome. i am so glad i stumbled across you during this hop. i think hanzel and gretel would be cool. or snow white – i would love to see the 7 dwarfs as zombies!!! have tower in the woods on my top 10 TBR. thanks so much for the giveaway.
    pepperpenn42 at gmail dot com

  30. Snow White!

  31. Thanks everyone for the comments! (BTW, I just Google’d Kaguya Hime…*sniffles*…such a sad and touching story…*glares at plot bunny and gently nudges it to the side for future contemplation*).

    Lots of love for Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid, followed closely by Sleeping Beauty and Snow White. Who knows, I might just end up writing them all 🙂 (a lofty goal, considering Red Riding Hood is stalling at 17K words–I should blog less and write more)

    53 minutes left for the Giveaway! I’ll announce the winner as soon as Rafflecopter spits one out here in the comments. The winner will be sent the Amazon Gift Card via email 🙂

  32. I think book 3 should be based on Cinderella! Who doesn’t love a classic love story? Thanks for the chance to win! Good luck on picking your next book’s topic!

    read4food@yahoo.com

  33. ….and the Gift Card goes to *drum roll*

    #46 – Dawna N. (who suggested Hansel and Gretel).

    The Amazon gift card has been sent (so if you don’t see it in your inbox, please let me know).

  34. Thank you for the awesome hop and giveaway!!! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

