Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday No. 6 (#sffsat) – Tower in the Woods

Continuing from the past weeks, this snippet is from Tower in the Woods, a post-apocalyptic zombie romance now available on AmazonARe and LSBooks (I’m still waiting for it to show up on Barnes and Noble). It is based on the Grimm’s fairy tale Rapunzel. I’m switching over to Dane’s POV this time.

For past snippets, click on the SFFSat tag at the bottom of this post.

Special Agent Dane Prince silently cursed as he hauled himself up the Tower in the woods. The flimsy rope cut painfully into his palms, the small sharp fibers that were braided elaborately together feeling like prickly thorns. He could only thank his lucky stars the woman on the other end was holding steady. Dane couldn’t make out any facial features when he first looked up at the Tower, the moonlight having silhouetted the female and obscuring his view. He had been desperate, asking her to pull him up, even though he strongly doubted any female had the strength necessary to do so. Now that he was a good fifteen feet off the ground, he was relieved he had been wrong, but intimately aware if she suddenly let go of the rope he would most surely die.

Twitter: #sffsat

SFFSat is a group of writers sharing snippets from both published and unpublished works of science fiction and fantasy. You can read more about the group by clicking the banner to the left, as well as follow links to the other participants.

Any comments are much appreciated!

13 responses to “Science Fiction and Fantasy Saturday No. 6 (#sffsat) – Tower in the Woods

  1. I’m not usually a fan of shifting POV in a romance, but it will be interesting to see how this plays out.

  2. I’m still enjoying the Rapunzel sprinkled with zombies storyline. I haven’t seen the genre mixed with classic fairy tales but it seems to fit well. Keep the snippets coming!

  3. Interesting new take. I like the mental narrative. That last line sure gives new meaning to the phrase “Girl Power”

  4. Great descriptions! Yep, I’ve grabbed rope like that before – ick – I mean, ouchie!

  5. Rope or hair? If it’s hair, she may need a new shampoo – considering all the prickly fibres and such. I think the new Head and Shoulders has a remedy for the prickly bits. 😉

  6. Reminds me of trying to knit with yarn from dogs that had been sheared rather than combed out. Sounds like cut ents, which would not be like long hair.

  7. Don’t let go! Don’t let go!

    This is my first time reading your work, and I like what I see so far. Keep them coming!

  8. Great snippet! I sure hope he’s got strong hands. I also can’t wait to see what happens when these two meet face to face…

  9. I agree! The meeting should be interesting!

  10. I like the descriptiveness of the rope and the silhouetted shape – very evocative. I’m looking forward to reading more of this.

  11. He does suddenly find himself in a vulnerable situation. Nice snippet 🙂

  12. Rope? lol, wait until he finds out what it really is… unless it is rope… and if it is… ignore my comment. 😛

  13. I can just feel how awful that rope is! Love the zombie/Rapunzel mash up.

Leave a Reply

